World class contest enters cut-throat judging phase

By Wright Communications

The awards, presented by New Zealand Trade and Enterprise and Kea New Zealand, celebrate some of New Zealand's tallest poppies from industries as diverse as biotechnology through to IT, finance and everything in between.

Nominations have closed for the 2013 World Class New Zealand Awards with World Class New Zealand director Stephen Dee citing an increase in the number and diversity of entries received on last year.

"We have received more than 100 nominations of an exceptionally high standard.

"In the business and investment, new thinking, creative, and science, technology and academia categories the competition is fierce. The judges have got their work cut out for them."

The process from here is for the judging panel, led by chair of judges John Stace, to shortlist entries down to about 30 in a month's time.  The judges are themselves a who's who of outstanding New Zealanders - retiring Chair of New Zealand Trade and Enterprise, Jon Mayson, Professor Sir Peter Gluckman, Chief Scientific Advisor to the Prime Minister and winner of the 2006 World Class New Zealand 'Science, Technology and Academia" Award, Dame Judith Mayhew Jonas, Chair of the New West End for London and winner of the 2011 World Class New Zealand "Investment and Business" Award,  Bridget Liddell, General Partner, Fahrenheit Wellness Fund and a former Kea Global Board Member, and eminent Kaumatua, academic and business leader, Sir Tipene O'Regan.

The nominees will be evaluated against five main criteria, with a focus on promoting New Zealand internationally, building global connections and facilitating the exchange of information, knowledge and skills domestically and internationally.

Mr Dee said the World Class New Zealand Awards are highly revered, and look beyond our shores to showcase New Zealand talent.

"There are a number of New Zealanders both here and around the world who are truly world class - not only are they extremely talented in their field, but they use their influence to build global connections and encourage investment into New Zealand," he said.

"World Class New Zealanders reflect the highest echelons of individual success across business, creativity, science, innovation, technology and other sectors. It is these types of individuals we are seeking to celebrate."

Now in their tenth year, the annual World Class New Zealand Awards is a New Zealand Trade and Enterprise initiative delivered by Kea New Zealand. The Awards honour exceptional New Zealanders with the expertise and experience to build global connections with New Zealand, foster innovation and entrepreneurship and maximize the global exposure of New Zealand capability.

The seven categories for the 2013 World Class New Zealand Awards are:

  • New Thinking
  • Life Sciences
  • Creative
  • Investment & Business
  • Information & Communications
  • Manufacturing, Design & Innovation
  • Science, Technology & Academia

In addition, there will be a Friend of New Zealand Award and a Supreme Award, both of which will be revealed at a gala dinner at The Langham Hotel in Auckland on 23 May 2013.


Latest News

Get in Touch

Give us a call, send us a message or call in and see us.  We’d love to hear from you.