Winning World Class New Zealanders announced

By Wright Communications

Now in their ninth year, the annual World Class New Zealand Awards, a New Zealand Trade and Enterprise initiative delivered by Kea New Zealand, honour the successful New Zealanders who have significantly contributed to the country's growth and development, as well as its international reputation.

The Awards celebrate our tall poppies, in fields ranging from business and academia to the creative arts, and demonstrate New Zealand's global connectedness.

The seven category winners for the 2012 World Class New Zealand Awards are:


Award category


Sir Graeme Douglas

Life Sciences

(Sponsored by Ernst & Young)

Founder and Managing Director, Douglas Pharmaceuticals

Ian Taylor


(Sponsored by Wellington City Council)

Founder and owner, Animation Research Ltd

Hon. Peter S Watson

Investment and Business

(Sponsored by BDO)

President and CEO, The Dwight Group

Dr. David Kirk

Information and Communications

(Sponsored by MetService)

Co-founder and Managing Partner of Bailador Investment Management, Chairman of Trade Me and Executive Chairman of The Hoyts Group

Jeremy Moon

Manufacturing, Design and Innovation

(Sponsored by Ministry of Science and Innovation)

Chief Executive Officer, Icebreaker

Tony Falkenstein

New Thinking

(Sponsored by Gen-i)

Chief Executive Officer, Red Eagle Corporation Ltd and Just Water

Prof. Malcolm Grant

Science, Technology and Academia

(Sponsored by The Royal Society of New Zealand)

President and Provost, University College London

The winners of a special Iconic New Zealander Award and the Supreme World Class New Zealand Award will be revealed at a gala dinner at The Langham Hotel in Auckland on Thursday 31 May.

The Iconic New Zealander Award is presented to a New Zealander who has enhanced New Zealand's reputation and international standing.

The winners will be presented with the World Class New Zealand Tall Poppy statuette designed by Sir Richard Taylor, recently named 2012 Kiwibank New Zealander of the Year, and 2009 winner of the Supreme World Class New Zealand Award.

The Awards this year were judged by a panel of six, comprising John Stace (Chair of judges), Jon Mayson, Professor Sir Peter Gluckman, Dame Judith Mayhew Jonas, Bridget Liddell and Sir Tipene O'Regan.

The nominees are evaluated against five main criteria, with a focus on promoting New Zealand internationally, building global connections and facilitating the exchange of information, knowledge and skills domestically and internationally.

Kea Global board member and Chair of judges John Stace said the World Class New Zealand Awards offer an opportunity for all Kiwis to feel proud of the achievements of some of our leading men and women.

"The Awards recognise and appreciate the significant contribution of our tallest poppies- the talented and successful Kiwis who are actively involved in supporting and promoting New Zealand and raising our reputation internationally."


Latest News

Get in Touch

Give us a call, send us a message or call in and see us.  We’d love to hear from you.